Updated: November 1st, 2012

This Web Site is being redesigned.

The Site will include:

Tutorials for classical guitar technique using cutting-edge technology.


New recordings of already present on this Site.

Wish to be posted ?

Actualizado: 1ro de Noviembre, 2012

Este Sitio Web está siendo rediseñado.


Tutoriales de técnica para guitarra clásica mediante el uso de tecnología de vanguardia.


Nuevas grabaciones de las

obras ya existentes.

¿Desea estar informado?


Classical Music Archives Recognized Contributor


Héctor Ayala (Argentina, 1914-1987)

Héctor Ayala was born in Concordia (Entre Rios) in 1914.

His musical career was principally as an accompanist to tango singers in Argentina.

The singer of tango is usually accompanied by a guitar quartet. Héctor Ayala played with Roberto Grela´s guitar quartet, a very famous quartet in Argentina.

Héctor Ayala had a deep knowledge of many traditional and emblematic forms of music in Latin America. In 1962 Ayala composed “Serie Americana” (American Series) which is a collection of seven pieces for guitar.

It is really amazing the remarkable ability of Héctor Ayala to compose different musical characteristic pieces from several countries in South America which every one has a unique style.

The seven pieces of the “Serie Americana” are:

1 - Prelude
2 - Chôro (Brazil)
3 - Takirari (Bolivia)
4 - Guarania (Paraguay)
5 - Tonada (Chile)
6 - Waltz (Perú)
7 - Gato y Malambo (Argentina)

The origins of the word “Chôro” are not precise. It is believed that it derives from the Portuguese word “Chôro” that means to cry. Maybe this explains the nostalgic character always found in the Brazilian Chôro.

The Brazilian Chôro is well known around the world because of the musical work by the Brazilian composer Heitor Villalobos who wrote a number of "quite erudite” Chôros.

The Chôro is principally an instrumental piece and due to its harmonic and rhythmic patterns it is usually associated with all the instrumental Brazilian music.

Classical Guitar Music