Updated: November 1st, 2012

This Web Site is being redesigned.

The Site will include:

Tutorials for classical guitar technique using cutting-edge technology.


New recordings of already present on this Site.

Wish to be posted ?

Actualizado: 1ro de Noviembre, 2012

Este Sitio Web está siendo rediseñado.


Tutoriales de técnica para guitarra clásica mediante el uso de tecnología de vanguardia.


Nuevas grabaciones de las

obras ya existentes.

¿Desea estar informado?


Classical Music Archives Recognized Contributor


Joaquín Rodrigo (Spain, 1901-1999)

Joaquín Rodrigo was born in Sagunto, near the city of Valencia, Spain, on the 22nd of November of 1901.

Rodrigo was blind since the age of three, nevertheless he became a great virtuoso pianist and one of the greatest composers in the XXth century.

He studied music under Francisco Antich in Valencia and under Paul Dukas in Paris.

Rodrigo's most famous work was the Concierto de Aranjuez (1939 - Paris), a concerto for solo classical guitar and orchestra. The central adagio movement is one of the most recognizable in 20th century classical music, featuring the interplay of guitar with English horn.

The Concierto de Aranjuez is composed in the usual three movements and scored for a relatively large orchestra - considering the solo instrument is a guitar: 2 flutes/piccolo, 2 oboes/cor anglais,

Rodrigo has been a highly prolific composer, turning out numerous theatrical pieces, chamber and vocal pieces as well as concerti for violin, cello, harp and piano.

Joaquin Rodrigo belongs to that group of composers who, in spite of numerous works of excellent quality with a fresh sense of creativity, owe their fame to a single and often overplayed masterpiece. Composed in Paris in 1939, the Concierto de Aranjuez catapulted its author to instant international notoriety, setting unreasonable expectations within the world's musical community which Rodrigo was never able to fulfil.

Yet for the remainder of his life he was bestowed with innumerable prizes and honorary degrees, thanks to the wide success of the Concierto.

In 1991, Rodrigo was raised to the nobility by King Juan Carlos, given the title "Marqués de los jardines de Aranjuez" (Marquis of the gardens of Aranjuez).


He won the prestigious Prince of Asturias Award in 1996 (Spain's equivalent to the Nobel Prize). He was also named "Commendateur" of the L'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the French government in 1998 (Commander - Order of Arts & Letters).

He died in 1999 in Madrid. Joaquín Rodrigo and is buried at the cemetery at Aranjuez.

Classical Guitar Music